Tags

, , , , ,

In my experience it can be a little bit of both. I wrote the down my entire story and then I read it. Horrified, I took the pieces apart and started again, it read just a little too much like a biography.  So I added some things here and moved other parts there and changed the way the story flowed a bit. But that’s called writing and all part of the process in completing a literary masterpiece.

While engrossed in the exercise of writing, I’ve been caught in revising loops a few times. Thankfully I think – again – that I am at the point now where it really only needs some tweaking to put all the pieces together in a cohesive way that grabs the reader. I want it; no NEED it to be done well.

I wonder then, when is it too much? How long should it take to tell a story? I guess there’s no definitive answer to that, but at what point does it become just going around in circles and what should an author do about it?

It could just be stage fright; revealing your work for the first time to others can be terrifying. But maybe it would be less so if it’s introduced to a smaller audience and the kinks worked out before going live to the world. I don’t have all the answers, but I’m currently building a list of test subjects right now.

Writing is hard work and takes a lot of commitment, but if you have something to tell the world, it’s worth it.

Writers come and share your experiences or your hard learned lesson to others.

