Tags

, , , , ,

In a recent post I asked the question “Wait for an agent or find an editor on your own?” and I received some really good comments. One suggestion from Susan Lower (thanks Susan) was to find critique groups and beta readers.

Critique groups give writers a place to share ideas and get feedback on their work. Betas read manuscripts a give suggestions to help smooth over any rough edges.

I love this idea but I wonder, where do you go to find them? How do you know if they are any good? Is there anything writers should be cautious of, any red flags?

Feedback is a tremendous tool when writing, so it makes sense to start with a critique group, a beta reader or both before darting off to an editor. In the end you may not even need hire one of your own.

If you have experiences or suggestions, leave a comment. I would love to hear from you.

I’m going to give it a go. Stay tuned 🙂

